Leaders of sustainable development

Last Wednesday the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs (RSPP) summarized the results of the national contest “Leaders of Russian business: dynamics and responsibility - 2020”. Representatives of the railway industry won in three categories. JSC UTLC ERA was recognized by the RSPP as the winner in the nomination “For Dynamic Business Development”. This, in particular, was facilitated by the multiple growth of container traffic in UTLC ERA services, following the route China - Europe - China: at the end of 2020 the growth amounted to 64%. 

The organizing committee included JSC Russian Railways in the list of laureates in the “Environmental Responsibility” category. As follows from the contest documentation, when determining the winners in this category, the decrease in the negative impact on the environment, the presence of certified environmental management systems and the expenses on environmental protection were taken into account. With the national goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 30% by 2030 compared to 1990 levels, Russian Railways already achieved a 49% reduction in CO2 emissions in 2020 with comparable transportation volumes. Recall also that the holding company Russian Railways was the first company in Russia and the CIS back in 2019 to place “green” Eurobonds on the stock exchange. The attracted funds of “green” financing are directed to the purchase of modern rolling stock. From 2025 on, Russian Railways plans to completely abandon the purchase of diesel locomotives. Since 2006, the RSPP has held an annual contest among its member companies to identify the leaders of Russian business on economic, social and environmental parameters. According to the organizers, their goal is to identify dynamic businesses and promote best practices in the field of sustainable development. 

The RSPP received 243 applications from businesses from 35 regions of the country for the contest, which was held at the end of 2020. Among those nominated for victory, there were companies from major sectors of the economy, including the mining, oil and gas, chemical, pharmaceutical and transportation industries, as well as machine building and agro-industrial complexes. 47 companies became winners in nine categories. According to the RSPP, the awarding of winners will be timed to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the union, but the exact dates have not yet been determined.